SIGNING OUT OF CHROME – For smartphones and computer

SIGNING OUT OF CHROME. The Google Chrome browser in use stores information such as browsing history, passwords, credit card numbers, and more. It is thus important to log out of Chrome after use. The same goes for Gmail or Google account, for in logging into your Gmail, you are also signed into other Google products like the Chrome browser. Logging out of Chrome thus becomes necessary so others can’t see your information, and this is especially so when using a public computer or a device belonging to someone else.

SIGNING OUT OF CHROME - For smartphones and computer

On the browser search also, the autofill can be very revealing, thus it is necessary for a person to do an audit of where he or she is signed in, since we sometimes use several devices in the same period.

Signing out of chrome is pretty straight forward on a computer. You can simply look for your Google profile photo on the top right corner of the page. Then click on your profile photo and select Sign-out.

ALSO READ:  Facebook Care Reaction – fully communicate your intentions

For smartphones such as Android and iOS,

signing out of Chrome entails:

  1. Tap your profile photo at the top right side of the app for Android phones and tap profile photo at the bottom right side for iOS.
  2. Async and Google services screen comes up, tap profile photo again
  3. Tap Sign out and turn off Sync

Turning off Syncing for Chrome on a computer

When your chrome is synced, data such as extensions, bookmarks, passwords, and browsing history are backed to your email address. Turning this functionality entails:

  1. Firstly, click the More menu which is the three vertical dots on the top right corner in a computer
  2. Secondly, click Settings
  3. Also, click the small arrow next to Sync
  4. Select the arrow next to the Manage what you sync section to expand it.

For smartphones, turning off syncing is done by:

  1. Firstly, tap the More menu at the top right corner on Android phones and bottom right corner for iOS
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Tap Sync and Google Services
  4. Lastly, turn off the slider next to sync your chrome
ALSO READ:  DELETING PHOTOS FROM FACEBOOK - Deleting profile uploads

The moment you sign into a Google account from any app, you are automatically signed in to Chrome by default. To disable such a default setting, we carry out the following:

  1. Open Chrome
  2. Select Settings in the drop-down menu
  3. Select Sync and Google services in the You and Google section
  4. Switch of the slider next to Allow Chrome sign-in

There are cases that you may need to sign out of Chrome from a device you no longer have access to. This also signs you out from the device you are currently using, and of course, you can log in again. To sign out from such non-available devices:

  1. Go to myaccount.google.com/permissions
  2. Scroll down to the Google apps section and click Google Chrome
  3. Select Remove Access.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.