MAKING FACEBOOK PRIVATE – protect your personal information

MAKING FACEBOOK PRIVATE. Facebook generally tends to make everything you put on its network public. Some persons are not totally comfortable with this, they see it as an invasion of privacy. One can however make changes to protect his or her information. A quick way to do this is to lock down everything you put on Facebook. This is done by setting your default sharing option from the public to private.

MAKING FACEBOOK PRIVATE - protect your personal information

Getting to the Facebook privacy settings and Tools Screen:

  1. Firstly, select the arrow in the top-right corner of any Facebook screen.
  2. Secondly, select Settings in the drop-down menu
  3. Thirdly, click Privacy in the left panel
  4. Fourthly, the first item listed is Who can see your future posts? If it says public, click that option and choose friends from the drop-down menu
  5. Also, select close to save the change
  6. Also, you can also choose the audience for previous posts on this screen. Go to the area labelled limit the audience for posts you have shared with friends of friends or public? Select limit Past posts, then Select Limit Past Posts again.
ALSO READ:  How to Permanently Delete Your Whatsapp Account | Deactivate Your Whatsapp Account

HOW TO MAKE YOUR FACEBOOK FRIENDS LIST PRIVATE

You can change your preferences from settings on your profile page. Friends list appears Public by default on Facebook, of course this can be changed thus:

  1. On the Privacy Settings and Tools screen, click Edit next to Who can see your friend’s list?
  2. Select either friends or only me to keep your friend’s list private

Alternatively, one can

  1. Go to your Facebook Profile Page
  2. Go to friends tab under your cover photo
  3. Click the Manage button at the top of the friend’s screen and click Edit privacy
  4. Select an audience next to Who can see your friends’ list?
  5. Select an audience next to Who can see the People and Pages you follow
  6. Click the X icon to save the changes

REVIEWING PROFILE PRIVACY SETTINGS

Facebook Profile is Public by default meaning it is viewable by everyone and can be indexed by several search engines. Privacy experts recommend you review the Profile settings for each item in your profile. To do this, we

  1. Select your name at the top of any Facebook screen to go to your profile
  2. Select Edit Details in the left panel of your profile page
  3. Clear the checkboxes next to the information you want to remain private. This includes boxes next to your current city, education, hometown and other personal information you have added to Facebook. To edit an item, click the pencil icon.
ALSO READ:  How To Unblock A Friend On Facebook - How To Unblock Someone On Facebook

MAKING YOUR PROFILE INVISIBLE TO SEARCH ENGINES

A person can completely block his profile from showing up in search engines. To do this:

  1. Firstly, select the arrow on the top-right corner of any Facebook screen
  2. Secondly, select Settings in the drop-down menu
  3. Thirdly, click Privacy in the left panel
  4. Next to Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link your profile? Select Edit and clear the checkbox that allows search engines to see you on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.